Monday awards assembly honors Leonard High School athletes

Written by By Ava Barlow, Staff Writer Thursday, 26 May 2011 10:14 - Last Updated Friday, 05 August 2011 10:15

May 19, 2011 - The annual Leonard High School Athletic Awards ceremony was held on Monday, May 16, in the high school commons area.

Cheerleader coach Kacie Weaver awarded cheerleaders Najwa Nwankwo and Kasey Chennault the Most Spirited award.

Shane Fletcher, head football coach and Athletic Director, gave football awards to his athletes for the 2010 season. District Honorable Mention certificates were given to Bradley Dills, Jarrell Washington, Travis Damesworth, T. J. Stahley, Cody Winkler and Jake Buchanan. Second Team All-District awards were given to Jake Buchanan for quarterback and Aaron Shanks for receiver, safety and punter. First Team All-District players were Dario Gomez and Bubba Martin. Leonard Tiger awards for the 2010 playing season are as follows: Defensive Back of the Year - Aaron Shanks, Linebacker of the Year - Bradley Dills and Dario Gomez, Defensive Lineman of the Year - Gavin Buckaloo, Wide Receiver of the Year -T. J. Stahley, Offensive Lineman of the Year - Cody Winkler, Running Back of the Year - Jarrell Washington, Secondary Player of the Year - Aaron Shanks, Defensive Player of the Year - Bubba Martin and Offensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player - Jake Buchanan.

Jessica Stovall awarded Taylor Conti and Alec Brockus with MVP awards for the girls and boys' cross country teams.

James Garner gave volleyball awards to Najwa Nwankwo for her Second Team All District nod, and also to Kayla Winkler for receivingHonorable Mention. Lauren Wilkins was named Offensive Player of the Year, Winkler was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Nwankwo was MVP.

Girls' basketball awards were also given by Coach Garner. Academic All District awards went to Kayla Winkler, Najwa Nwankwo, Katelyn Womack, Abbey DeVincentis, Lexi DeVincentis, Shelby Zumwalt, Kasey McCarley and Taylor Bishop. Second team awards went to Shelby Zumwalt and Kasey McCarley. The Guts awards went to Kayla Winkler. First Team All-District members included Kayla Winkler and Najwa Nwankwo. The Sixth Man award went to Katelyn Womack. MVP awards went to Winkler andNwankwo.

Monday awards assembly honors Leonard High School athletes

Written by By Ava Barlow, Staff Writer Thursday, 26 May 2011 10:14 - Last Updated Friday, 05 August 2011 10:15

Boys' basketball players receiving Academic All District certificates from Coach Jeff Smith for district 12AA were Blake Hicks, Ty Lynn, Tyler Turner, Storm Taylor, Max Scoggins and Matthew Wilson. Honorable Mention players were Max Scoggins and Christian Lyday. Named to Second Team All District was Aaron Shanks. Named to First Team All District was Blake Hicks. Other district awards were Newcomer of the Year - Storm Taylor and Defensive Player of the Year- Tyler Turner. LHS awards are as follows: Newcomer of the Year - Max Scoggins, Best All Around Player - Blake Hicks, Defensive Most Valuable Player - Tyler Turner, Offensive Player of the Year - Storm Taylor, and Most Valuable Player - Tyler Turner. Chase Devo also got an award for serving as manager for the boys' basketball team.

Coach Stovall gave girls track awards to Katelyn Womack for Most Valuable Player and Taylor Conti for the Fighting Heart Award. Fletcher awarded Alec Brockus the Most Valuable Player award for boys' track.

Matthew Moyer coached girls' and boys' tennis teams and named Clayton Terry the Newcomer of the Year in Boys' Singles, Taylor Bishop and Max Scoggins the Mixed Doubles team, Bailey Anderson as Newcomer of the Year in girls' tennis, Rylee Rushing as Most Valuable Player girl and Jordan Norman and Mason Butler were Co-Most Valuable Players for boys.

Greg Connelly coached girls' and boys' golf teams and named Shelby Zumwalt and female Most Valuable Player and Justin Bennett as boys' Most Valuable Player.

Powerlifting boy's team was coached by Dru Murray who named the Most Valuable Player as Gavin Buckaloo.

Powerlifting girl's team was coached by Mike Dills who named the Most Valuable Player as April Jones and gave Cadi Grantland and April Jones awards for going all the way to national competition.

Weaver handed out girl's softball awards. Second team All District awards were as follows: outfield - Kendra Dougherty, infield - Lauren Wilkins, pitcher - Lindsey Stanley, and catcher - Kayla Winkler, who had a 512 batting average and was named the All District Utility player. MVPs were Kayla Winkler and Lindsey Stanley.

Monday awards assembly honors Leonard High School athletes

Written by By Ava Barlow, Staff Writer Thursday, 26 May 2011 10:14 - Last Updated Friday, 05 August 2011 10:15

Brody Lipsey coached the boy's baseball team and awarded Bubba Martin as MVP, Caleb Simmons as Offensive Player of the Year, Aaron Shanksas Defensive Player of the Year, Ty McKinney as Newcomer of the Year and Martin received the Hustle Award.

In the overall school awards, the "E" award went to T. J. Stahley for always giving a little more effort. The Fighting Heart award went to Lindsey Stanley for her courageous effort in battling back from injuries. Outstanding Female of the Year was Kayla Winkler, and Outstanding Male of the Year was Aaron Shanks.

Pam McCarley was presented with a plaque from Coylene Moreland for 15 years of service in the Leonard Athletic Club.